Disney London Meet-Up, February 2017

So I’ve become quite partial to a good Disney meet-up of late. If it’s possible, I’ll be there… with bells on; and this one was no exception. I love meeting new people from the Disney community and catching up with some familiar faces. I knew from the group chat on twitter that there were going to be a lot more people attending, the numbers seem to grow each time but this got me even more excited.

On the morning of the 11th I was up early getting ready as I had arranged to meet Kirsty for a quick catch up before the madness began. I went equipped with my new Cheshire cat jumper, Mickey hat and ruck sack (well you can’t go to a meet without being all Disney’d up). After myself and Kirsty stopped for some hot beverages and a pastry (because it was blooming cold that day) we headed for the Japan Centre where we met DeandreSophieGabi and Joe. After purchasing a few bits from there we went to find a bus stop (which wasn’t quite as easy as we thought) to catch a bus to Oxford Street where we were going to meet everyone outside the Disney Store.

When we passed the store on the bus, we could see just how big the group was and I started to worry about not getting the chance to chat to everyone. Previous meets had already proved quite difficult for this so with the increased size of this group it seemed impossible. It became my mission to get as many photos with as many people as I could while attempting to join in with conversations. It wasn’t easy but I thought I did well.

Once initial hello’s were out of the way Kirsty started her Disney pin giveaway. She was kind enough to bring with her a bag of pins that she no longer needed. There wasn’t enough for everyone so she drew a raffle to make it fair. I was one of the lucky winners bagging myself a lovely Easter Alice pin.

It was then time to hit the Disney Store. I managed to resist buying anything this time as I’d already bought a few things in my local store a couple of weeks before (well there was a sale on so what’s a girl to do?). When everyone had finished we all gathered for a group photo outside which I got Deandre to take with his super selfie arms (tall friends do have benefits haha!). 

After a little more chat we all said our good byes and dispersed into smaller groups to go and get something to eat. Unfortunately it would have been impossible to stick together with so many people. The group that I was in decided on Five Guys, a place that I had never been to before but was happy to try. This is where I discovered THE SODA FOUNTAIN!!! forget about the veggie sandwich with cheese and chips (which was good by the way) but this is how my obsession with cherry Fanta started (damn you!).

Feeling happy and full we moved on to find a pub to chill out in. The Montagu Pyke in Charing Cross road was rammed when we got there so I had an idea. I ran over to the Phoenix Artist club on the opposite side of the road. This is a private bar for people involved in performing arts and media and is open to anyone before 8pm. I knew this venue would be ideal as I had held a couple of charity events there a few years ago. I popped in to see if they had enough room for us and to lay on something special before the others came in. I called everyone over and as they entered the venue they were surprised to hear Disney music playing. It made my day to see everyone excited, like they had stumbled upon a treasure trove. Everyone made themselves comfortable for the next couple of hours. A great day turned into a great evening.

Of course special thanks go out to Eleanor and Lizi for organising the meet-up yet again, your efforts never go unnoticed.

Leave a Reply

