DLP Trip Over-View, Christmas 2016 Part 2

Sunday 27th November – We didn’t get to the park as early but we were in time for rope drop at Frontierland where our first port of call was a visit to Sandy Claws. We had a good old chat about how much I preferred Halloween to Christmas. Once we had moved on we came across Jafar in his usual spot so decided to get some photos with him. He must have got out of the wrong side of the bed because he was a lot more touchy than usual, he certainly didn’t like me stroking Iago, the big baby. That was such a great character interaction though, I loved it.

Apart from Sandy Claws and Jafar, the only other meet we had planned was Ariel at the Princess Pavillion. We grabbed a waffle and hot chocolate at the Windmill which I instantly regretted afterwards when I felt sick… but it was just so good. We watched ‘A Royal Invitation’ multiple times to try to get some good photos of the royal couples as they came off-stage.

As we were walking towards Phantom Manor we met Grace and Sophie again so it would have been rude not to pop in for a group ride. We were able to have a proper chat this time which was lovely and when we came out we bumped into Manuel so took the opportunity to have some group photos taken. Manuel is one of the nicest cast members that you can meet, and I’m sure everyone that I know that has met him would say the same.

Louise and I said goodbye to Jess and Rachel later that day and went for dinner at Plaza Gardens. It was a gratefully received recommendation from Deandre. I really enjoyed the food there and fortunately they were able to fit us in a little bit earlier. It wasn’t very busy either so all in all it was a pleasant experience.

Monday 28th November – We went into central Paris to visit some popular landmarks and get all cultured. Notre Dame Cathedral was amazing (and obviously Disney themed so we had to do it). The Louvre was interesting and we couldn’t believe how small the painting of the Mona Lisa was. We got back to DLP around 4pm where we met Leanne and her mum Sue. The first ride we decided to go on was Pirates of the Caribbean to get our traditional funny pose photo, unfortunately we didn’t get as far as the photo drop. The ride had broken down just before the first drop. Initially I began to panic until they turned all the lights on. I’d always wondered how they would get us off of the ride if they couldn’t get it started again (we’d had a few close calls before) and we were about to find out.

Cast members appeared and tried their best to explain in French and English what they were going to do. One guy got into the water in his waterproofs to push the boats back to the nearest exit and they raised the metal grate beside us so we could step out onto it and into the backstage area which wasn’t very glamorous. From the time we got on the ride to the time we were successfully evacuated it took nearly an hour. When we got out the back there was a fire rescue van sitting there. We found the whole event rather exciting.

Tuesday 29th November – We had a packed day planned and we spent the majority of it in the studio park. I don’t think I’ve ever spent a good amount of time there before. We started off with the studio tram tour which I hadn’t done in a couple of years. Some parts of it I thought could do with a serious update, starting with the cringy video footage they show on the tram which they’ve had since the 90’s. We went to see Stitch Live for the first time and laughed so much. It’s so cleverly done and its brilliant entertainment for both adults and children.

We queued for Moana, the second time meeting her this trip. It was someone different playing her and we had even better interactions this time around. I love the fact that not every character experience is the same. After moana’s meet we went (for the second time) to pay mice royalty Mickey and Minnie a visit then found Pluto.

Mickey and the Magician was next on the agenda and it was even better than when I first saw it. Probably because when I first saw it I was suffering from sleep deprivation and I had just had my head bashed about on Rock ‘n’ Rollercoaster. By the time we had done everything we wanted to do it was time for dinner at Bistro Chez Remy (booked in advance). I was very impressed with both the service and the food there. I don’t think I could actually fault it. The vegetarian dish was tasty and we were given a free fruit drink when we showed our annual passes. The theming was amazing too. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone but I would suggest you book in advance as it’s very popular.

Leave a Reply

