DLP Trip Report – October 2016, Day 3

Today was a lot more chilled out as we didn’t have fancy dresses and a ton of makeup to apply. Our focus was on character meets and whatever rides we could fit in. Extra Magic hours was in the Studio park so the first ride we headed to was Tower of Terror. The last couple of times I had been I’d avoided it. It’s not one of my favourite’s as I’m not that keen on drop rides and it’s something I have to be in the mood for as I suffer from back and neck problems which also bring on migraines. Fortunately I was feeling stronger than I normally would and I didn’t want to miss out on doing it as a big group. I love the theming of TOT but I don’t mind missing out on it occasionally.

The next ride we went on was Rock ‘n’ Rollercoaster which is normally my favourite ride but after it left me feeling nausious last time I went on it I was affraid that I may have to find a new favourite ride. Unfortunately I had my worst fear confirmed, it jerked my head so much that I came off feeling a little dizzy. I don’t know if it’s because I’m becoming extra sensitive or they did something to the ride when altering it back in the summer. Either way I was left disappointed.

We strolled over to the the main park once we knew it was open. It was going to be another scortcher of a day and I had chosen to wear black. I was all Halloweened up in my Jack Skellington skirt, ready for my second meet with him. The skirt proved to be a good choice as he loved it. He allowed me to take some Skelfie’s (as he called it) and we all had a group photo. As we were in the area it would have been rude not to drop in on the manor. We then moved directly on to meet Disney royalty Mickey and Minnie in their Halloween costumes. They looked adorable infront of their fun back-drop. We had entertainment in the form of a brass band while we queued which I couldn’t help humming along to.

After we’d said our goodbyes to Mickey and Minnie we went to Frontierland station to catch the train to Fantasy land. This is something I hadn’t done since my first trip to DLP nearly five years ago. I don’t think I had ever realised that you pass over Pirates of the Caribbean and you can see into the cave. It goes to show that there’s always something new to see and experience. We stopped for a waffle before attemping the scrum that was the villains meet at the ‘It’s good to be bad’ show. Our research payed off and we managed to meet the old hag and the Tremains who had me in stitches. They really immersed themselves into their character roles and played them extremely well. They were definitely my favourites from the weekend, I could have stood and watched them for ages.

It wasn’t long before the others had to leave so we had a wander around taking photos with the pumpkin people. Myself and Leanne were staying an extra night which gave us much needed time to fit in more characters that I hadn’t met. Before most of the girls left us we went to meet Daisy in her Halloween costume. Everyone was reluctant to leave as we were all having such a good time together.

We had a little bit of time left with Louise before she had to make her way home so we went to find Captain Hook as Leanne was Disneybounding as Peter Pan. Hook wasn’t impressed with my skirt as it wasn’t his face I had on it. How very self centered! We then went on Pirates of the Caribbean for the fourth or fifth time this trip. It’s one of our main go to rides.

After Louise left I was starting to feel very ill. A migrain had taken hold and I couldn’t shake it. This made for a very bad evening. I couldn’t eat half of the food I had ordered at Rain Forrest Cafe which left me sad as I actually liked it. I had been there twice before and hated the food so I didn’t know if I wanted to go in on this occasion but as it was so busy else-where this was pretty much our only option. Afterwards we got the bus back to the hotel and had an early night so that we could get up early the next day.

Leave a Reply

