Disney London Meet Up, September 2016

After completely failing to blog about the last London meet up (which I really enjoyed being my first one) I was all the more determined to this time. So here it goes.

Saturday September 17th 2016

I woke up to discover that the weather wasn’t quite what I was expecting, it was overcast and cold (finally Autumn was arriving) but that helped me to decide what I was going to wear. Getting my legs out today was not an option so I went for my Cheshire Cat print dress, leggings, boots, cardigan and Jacket. I had been dying to find an excuse to wear that dress for ages and that was the perfect opportunity. Once I was ready I was on my way checking up on everyone’s updates on the twitter group chat as I went. The location of the meet up is handy for me as it only takes me half an hour to get into central London from my local train station.

When I arrived at the Disney Store in Oxford street there was already a small group gathered outside. I didn’t have time to be nervous and to be honest I was more excited than anything else. It was lovely to see Lizi (one of the organisers) and a few familiar faces. We just talked until more people arrived, and boy did more people arrive (there was roughly about 37 of us altogether). Compared to the last meet up the number of people attending had doubled which made talking to everyone a little difficult but I was glad word had spread and this was now becoming a bigger event. It was good to finally meet Eleanor (co organiser) who was unable to make the last meet up.

Once we were sure that the majority of people had turned up we descended on the Disney Store. They had no idea what was about to hit them. There was so many things I could have bought but I resisted buying more than I had originally planned. I picked up a Boo Animators Collection doll which I’d had my eye on for a couple of weeks and a Mickey Mouse handbag which had been reduced. I’m sure shop sales went up that day as many of us purchased some bits.

Next stop was Hyde Park for our picnic. We chose our spot then went off to buy our food. A few of us went to Pret which was located across from Hyde Park so we didn’t have to walk very far. Once we were settled back at the park we mingled a little more and took photos. Everyone was so nice, I just wished I had been able to talk to everyone. However I’m just so glad to be a part of the twitter Disney community and have the opportunity to meet people face to face who I normally interact with online.

After the picnic, we went back to Oxford Street where we browsed Primark and finished up where we started in the Disney Store. I said my goodbyes and headed home with a smile on my face. I was rather disappointed that I didn’t get around to visiting Cinnabon (but Hazel’s homemade cookies made up for this) which everyone had previously made a big fuss about in the group chat but I’ve made it my future goal.

A big thank you goes out to Lizi Howard and Eleanor Hawthorne for organising the meet up and bringing Disney fans together.

Leave a Reply

