DLP Trip Report – August 2016, Day 1

After a hideously long journey by Megabus and the Paris metro we finally arrived at our happy place. It was my first time travelling by Megabus and I was initially dreading it, mainly because we were travelling over night and I knew I was an incredibly light sleeper. We boarded our bus at Victoria coach station after a slight delay on their part due to a previously late coach which meant we were late getting to Dover. We missed the Ferry that we were originally supposed to catch so annoyingly had to wait for the 1am Ferry. Already tired and grumpy and already angry about a drunk passenger who decided to sit next to us on the bus and continuously ask myself and my friends personal questions, I wasn’t in a great mood to be waiting around. Luckily we were able to get off the bus for a break and I perked up once I purchased a hot chocolate.

The Ferry crossing was smooth and the time passed quickly. When we got back on the bus, we were able to move seats and we had no more problems. I continued to drift in and out of sleep until we arrived at Bercy in Paris. Still tired and feeling a bit zombie like, we headed for the metro which Louise had bought tickets for in advance. She had used these modes of transport many times before so she was happy for me to leave the booking down to her which I really appreciated. We only had one change on the metro, a straight-forward (40-50 minute) journey if you know what you are doing. Myself and Leanne just followed Louise though.

The fun started as soon as we reached Disneyland and handed our things over to left luggage before entering the gates (funnily enough I felt wide awake despite the lack of sleep). We started off by doing some rides and hunting down a few characters. We kept it very relaxed, there was no rushing from one place to the next which was lovely.

At lunch time we went to Hakuna Matata where I tried the Hakuna fries for the first time. They tasted like southern fried curly fries which I’ve always been a fan of so the Hakuna fries definitely got my vote. Afterwards we did some more wandering then headed over to the studio park where Leanne and I rode on Rock ‘n’ Rollercoaster for the first time since it had been worked on and being my favourite ride I was very excited. Unfortunately I came off feeling quite disappointed. It rattled my head around so much that I felt sick. I didn’t know if it was because I was already starting to get a headache and it made me more sensitive but Leanne didn’t have a pleasant experience either. Also, I may have just imagined it but the music didn’t seem to be playing as clearly as it used to. I will have to go back on it when I return just to see if the ride (or myself) was having a bad day.

By this time the heat was becoming unbearable and still felt quite queasy so we decided to grab a cold drink and sit in the queue for Mickey and the Magician. This was another first for me so I was really looking forward to it. We managed to get central seats and had a great view. I don’t want to give too much away if you haven’t seen it but I will say that I thoroughly enjoyed it and can’t wait to see it again when I feel more awake.

We got dinner at Cafe Hyperion in the evening because I love their veggie burger so much. We managed to stay in the park quite late much to my surprise but once we reached the hotel we were ready to flop. We were staying off site at the B&B hotel (easily accessible with the 54 shuttle bus). Facilities were basic with a comfortable bed with what appeared to be a memory foam mattress. Everything was clean and the shower was good although quite low (something for tall people to be aware of). I must have been so exhausted as it normally takes me a while to get to sleep but I was out like a light.

 

Leave a Reply

